The Adventures of KB

Healthy living in a hectic life

Excuses, excuses, excuses

on June 15, 2012

So, halfway through my first meeting Thursday night, I came to a very disturbing realization. I think I picked the worst possible time to join Weight Watchers.

Tonight, I’m responsible for baking dozens of cookies for a charity bake sale. Tomorrow, I’m leaving for a three-day New York City bachelorette weekend. And Tuesday, it’s my birthday, which I’m already planning to celebrate at my favorite Mexican restaurant.

I mean, seriously? The idea of staying on plan for these next few days seems almost impossible.

Last night, I brought my concerns up to my leader and she was pretty comforting. Even if I end up gaining three pounds (my prediction), I will at least have been more conscious of my food and drink choices. And who knows how many more pounds I would have gained otherwise?

So, here’s my plan for this weekend. I will track everything I eat and try to make good choices whenever I feel possible, but I will also not deprive myself.  If I want a golden chimichanga and a margarita on my birthday (and I think I might), I might just go for it, but I will track it.

I will also do my best to fit lots of exercise in this week.  It shouldn’t be too hard because New York is basically one humongous walk-a-thon and hopefully that will alleviate some of the other damage.  Anyways, we’ll see how it goes. Has anyone else ever done this?  I know there’s never a really convenient time to do a complete lifestyle change, but this surely must be one of the most inconvenient.  

My other problem that I have run into is that I can’t access the online e-tools so I don’t know the points plus values of some of the stuff I’ve eaten today.  I don’t think I’ve eaten anything really bad — I’ve chowed down on mainly fruits and veggies, yogurt, nuts and lean cuisine today — but it would be nice to know exactly where I am at points-wise on my first day. Has anyone else run into this problem?  I don’t seem to have the access code I need to get online.  Where do I find it?

Anyways, that’s where I am at on my first day. Already this is proving a little difficult, but I’m still excited.  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

