The Adventures of KB

Healthy living in a hectic life

This time will be different

on June 15, 2012

So, once again, I have come crawling back.

Yesterday, I woke up in the morning, stepped on the scale in my house, and decided something needed to change.

It’s not like I’m the biggest I’ve ever weighed. I’ve weighed more.

And it’s not like I’m had some killer “aha moment.” I haven’t.

Compared to how I used to feel, I am pretty accepting of my body these days.  I am not thin by any stretch of the imagination, but so what?  Being overweight is part of who I am, part of what has made me the way I am today and, most importantly, it does not define anything about me. I do feel self-conscious from time to time, but for the most part, I feel okay. I am NOT agonizing.

That said, I do want to lose weight. I would love to look better in some of my clothes and some of the fashions in stores.  I would love to cut my genetic risk of diabetes and feel more healthy. And I would love to see some of that muscle tone that I know is there.

So, I signed up for Weight Watchers yesterday for the millionth time. This time, I have committed to actually going to the meetings and getting to know my leader so I will feel accountable for how I do. I also resolve to write about my experiences (weight loss related and otherwise) here.

So yes, I’ve definitely done this before with no lasting success. But this time, for those reasons, it really will be different.

Leave a Reply

